Sensory Awareness Foundation

Menu

Online Classes

Online Every Saturday

These classes are a great opportunity to get a first impression of Sensory Awareness. 

But that’s just the beginning. For many they have become a not-to-be-missed weekly chance to practice with like-minded people from all over the world.

A seasonally changing theme serves as inspiration to explore what it means to live more fully.

9am US West Coast | 12pm US East Coast | 5pm Central European Time | | 4pm UK | 10am Mexico City
(For other time zones, use this converter)

Cost: $10 for non-members: Make a class donation

Free for SAF Members & First-time participants

Not yet a member? or want to renew your membership for 2024?
Yes, I want to join or renew my membership.


You will then receive a weekly email with detailed information on how to join.
(No need to register again if you already receive our weekly reminders.)



Upcoming dates and leaders:

June 22: Michael Atkinson
June 29: Ruth Kerr
July 6: Helga Hoenen
July 13: Mercedes Lopez
July 20: Shelley Hainer
July 27: Richard Lowe
Aug. 3: Misty Hannah
Aug. 10: Fernando Gil
Aug. 17: John Vitell
Aug. 24: Stefan Laeng
Aug. 31: Marsha Glassey

More classes to be announced shortly.


Discovering the Soundscape

Reflection by Michael Atkinson

(You can listen to it as a guided exploration.)

If I close my eyes and don’t nod off, what happens in the soundscape in which I find myself?How long is there silence? Is silence punctuated by little noises?  . . . . . 
. . . . . Or am I immersed in an earbath of sound?   Is it constant? 
Or changing like the currents of a stream? the shapes of clouds?

. . . . .If I relax into it, does anything shift? something new emerge? 
. . . . .And are there sounds coming from me? . . . . . Sounds that others could hear? 
Or some that only register with me? . . . 

. . . . .If I cover my ears with my hands . . . lightly at first, barely touching . . . what is the effect?  what’s new?
. . . . . And does anything change if I press my palms even closer to my ears,
leaning into the head bones, the jaw.

. . . . . And how am I feeling about all this?  Are there changes in my relation to the soundscape that I inhabit?  or in my relation to being here?

And what if I begin to move in it, through it?—eyes open now, perhaps, or still closed,
to suit my mood, my comfort, my curiosity.
 . . . . .Moving, am I ever without sound?  
 . . . . .And how am I when I’m really with it? – not straining or reaching, 
just opening in awareness to what’s already here, 

sounds touching. . . .sliding around, over, and through me all the time. . . .

. . . . .Not me in here, listening to that out there, 
but me in the world and the world in me, 
. . . . .”in” and “out” not counting for much, not easy to untangle. . . .
all whole 
even now,  as we part, and continue our life in the soundscape.



A selection of videos from past classes
can be found on our YouTube channel.

Your Support Matters

We are grateful for the opportunity to make Sensory Awareness freely available to many people across the world in these challenging times. If you feel called to support our work, we welcome your tax-deductible contribution to our efforts.

Membership in SAFYou can support our work even more by becoming member. With an annual contribution of $100 or more you will receive discounts on paid events and publications.